My WWOOFing diaries • Cosa vuol dire fare Woofing

wwoofing-wwoofer-wwoof

As Green Addicted living all year in the city, I decided to really go green this summer and trying my first WWOOFing experience.

WWOOF stands for Willing Workers On Organic Farms (or World-Wide Opportunities On Farming)- basically it is a program working on exchange basis: you give your workforce and receive back room and board.

I received back way more than this.

I was welcomed in a friendly family-like environment, feeling to have a useful role in the community of Guéveneaux. Kate greeted me with a smile as I arrived at Redon station, than she explained to me how they decided to change their diet towards eating only local products, coming from their own garden or from France, areas next to Britain are preferred. As part of keeping the relation with the environment local, they decided to use ecosan (ecological sanitation) instead of common water toilets, so that precious waste will turn in compost.

[Watch the video interview]

Poichè sono una Green Addicted ma vivo tutto l’anno in città, ho deciso quest’anno di fare una vacanza ultraverde lanciandomi nella mia prima esperienza di woofing!

Se ancora non sapete cos’è ora ve lo spiego: la sigla WOOFing sta per Willing Workers On Organic Farms (lavoratori volontari in fattorie biologiche) o anche World-Wide Opportunities On Farming (opportunità di vita da fattoria in tutto il mondo). Per un certo periodo di tempo, si decide di dedicare volontariamente alcune ore della propria giornata ai lavori di fattoria e si riceve in cambio vitto e alloggio.

Ma non solo. Io ho ricevuto in cambio molto più di questo.

Sono stata accolta da un ambiente molto aperto e familiare, che mi ha fatto sentire subito a mio agio nella piccola comunità di Guéveneaux. Mi ricordo ancora quando Kate mi ha accolto con un grande sorriso appena arrivata alla stazione di Redon: mi sono sentita a casa. Durante il tempo che abbiamo trascorso insieme mi ha raccontato diverse cose, come la decisione di voler seguire una dieta ecologica strettamente locale o la scelta di utilizzare il wc secco invece di quello ad acqua. Trovate tutto nella sua videointervista, buona visione!

About Green Addict

Sustainable living coach. Green talent scouting. Social & Sustainable entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

